Scientific Advisory Board

LCRF’s Scientific Advisory Board includes renowned scientists, physicians and thought leaders spanning a broad range of disciplines in lung cancer research. Many of the members are also affiliated with leading cancer centers in the United States.

The Scientific Advisory Board leverages its collective experience and expertise to maintain the objectivity of LCRF’s grant selection process and help ensure that the Foundation continues to fund innovative, high-reward research that might otherwise go uninvestigated.

Scientific Advisory Board Members

Katerina Politi, PhD (Chair)

Associate Professor of Pathology and Internal Medicine
Yale School of Medicine

Brendon M. Stiles, MD (Vice Chair)

LCRF Board of Directors
Associate Professor of Cardiothoracic Surgery
Weill Cornell Medical College

Jan Baranski, PhD (Ex Officio)

Director, Scientific Programs, LCRF

Alice Berger, PhD

Assistant Member, Human Biology Division
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
Assistant Professor, Genome Sciences
University of Washington

Julie Brahmer, MD

Director, Thoracic Oncology Program
Interim Director, Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins Bayview
Associate Professor of Oncology
Johns Hopkins University Medical School

David P. Carbone, MD, PhD

Professor of Medicine
Director, James Thoracic Center
Ohio State University

Jessica Donington, MD, MSCr

Professor and Chief General Thoracic Surgery
University of Chicago School of Medicine

James B. Dougherty, MD

LCRF Board of Directors
General Partner, Arcus Ventures

Steven M. Dubinett, MD

Professor and Chief, Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine
Director, UCLA Lung Cancer Research Program
Senior Associate Dean for Clinical and Translational Science
Associate Vice Chancellor for Research
David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA

Stacy W. Gray, MD, AM

Associate Professor
Population Sciences
Medical Oncology
City of Hope Comprehensive Cancer Center
Beckman Research Institute

Eric Haura, MD

Director, Lung Cancer Center of Excellence
Program Leader, Chemical Biology and Molecular Medicine
Senior Member, Department of Thoracic Oncology
Professor of Medicine & Oncologic Sciences, University of Florida
H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center

Roy Herbst, MD, PhD

Ensign Professor of Medicine
Chief of Medical Oncology
Associate Director for Translational Research
Yale Comprehensive Cancer Center | Yale School of Medicine | Smilow Cancer Hospital

John Heymach, MD, PhD

Associate Professor, Thoracic/Head and Neck Medical Oncology
Chief, Section of Thoracic Medical Oncology
The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

Mark Kris, MD

The William and Joy Ruane Chair in Thoracic Oncology
Attending Physician, Thoracic Oncology Service
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
Professor of Medicine
Weill Cornell Medical College

Donald W. Kufe, MD

Distinguished Physician
Professor of Medicine
Leader, Developmental Therapeutics Program
Dana-Farber/Harvard Cancer Center | Harvard Medical School

Marc Ladanyi, MD

Chief, Molecular Diagnostics Service
William J. Ruane Chair in Molecular Oncology
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

Christine Lovly, MD, PhD

Assistant Professor of Medicine, Division of Hematology-Oncology
Assistant Professor of Cancer Biology
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
Vanderbilt Ingram Cancer Center

Matthew Meyerson, MD, PhD

American Cancer Society Research Professor
Professor of Pathology, Harvard Medical School and Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Director, Center for Cancer Genome Discovery, DFCI
Institute Member, Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute | Harvard Medical School

John Minna, MD

Professor & Director
Max L. Thomas Distinguished Chair in Molecular Pulmonary Oncology
Sarah M. and Charles E. Seay Distinguished Chair in Cancer Research
Hamon Center for Therapeutic Oncology Research
UT Southwestern Medical Center

Katerina Politi, PhD

Associate Professor of Pathology
Yale School of Medicine

Suresh S. Ramalingam, MD

Professor of Hematology and Medical Oncology
Director of Medical Oncology
Roberto C. Goizueta Chair in Cancer Research
Deputy Director, Winship Cancer Institute
Assistant Dean for Cancer
Emory University School of Medicine

Karen Reckamp, MD, MS

Professor, Medical Oncology
Medical Director, Clinical Research Operations
Co-Director, Thoracic Oncology Program
City of Hope Comprehensive Cancer Center

Jack A. Roth, MD

Chief, Section of Thoracic Molecular Oncology
Professor, Department of Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgery
The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

Charles M. Rudin, MD, PhD

Chief of Thoracic Oncology Service
Co-Director, Druckenmiller Center for Lung Cancer Research
Sylvia Hassenfeld Chair in Lung Cancer Research
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

Joan Schiller, MD

Professor, Department of Medicine
Section of Hematology Oncology
University of Virginia

Ann G. Schwartz, PhD, MPH

Deputy Center Director
Karmanos Cancer Institute
Professor and Associate Chair Department of Oncology
Wayne State University School of Medicine

Jill Siegfried, PhD

Professor and Head, Department of Pharmacology
Frederick and Alice Stark Endowed Chair
Associate Director for Translation, Masonic Cancer Center
University of Minnesota Medical School

Raffaella Sordella, PhD

Associate Professor
Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory

David Spigel, MD

Chief Scientific Officer
Sarah Cannon Research Institute

Eva Szabo, MD

Chief, Lung and Upper Aerodigestive Cancer Group
Division of Cancer Prevention
National Cancer Institute, NIH

Ralph R. Weichselbaum, MD

Daniel K. Ludwig Distinguished Service Professor and Chairman
Department of Radiation and Cellular Oncology
University of Chicago

Kwok-Kin Wong, MD, PhD

Anne Murnick Cogan and David H. Cogan Professor of Oncology, Department of Medicine
Director, Division of Hematology and Medical Oncology
Laura & Isaac Perlmutter Cancer Center
NYU Langone Medical Center

Antoinette J. Wozniak, MD, FACP. FASCO

Professor of Medicine
Associate Director for Clinical Research
Director of the Lung Cancer Disease Unit
Hillman Cancer Center
University of Pittsburgh